Follow Porsche Club Motorsport on Twitter
Club Speed


Back to top

Dyson Wraps Up Title At Shelsley Walsh

Petro-Canada Lubricants Porsche Club Speed Championship with Pirelli

Round 12 Shelsley Walsh Hillclimb

An ever-present threat of rain hung over the final round of the 2018 season at Shelsley Walsh hill climb but, despite some light drizzle in the afternoon, 15 competitors managed to complete their last runs of the year in relatively dry conditions. The event ran without too much drama on an occasionally slippery surface but included some very close finishes to decide final class positions and the overall championship.

Including Croft that was abandoned due to bad weather at the beginning of the year, experienced Class P4 competitor Stuart MacLean appeared in seven rounds this season, accumulating 120.70 points and putting him squarely in the centre of the Championship’s overall scores. Smoothly driving one of the smartest competition-prepared 924s you’ll see on any circuit or hill climb, Stuart finished the year with a time of 39.24 at Shelsley.

Times for the four drivers in Class P3 were evenly spread with the fastest three all finishing within a second of each other. Finishing eighth overall in the Speed Championship Simon Parkin (Boxster 2.5) took third place at Shelsley in 36.59.

Slick-shod Stephen Jory is always a trophy contender and potential class winner in his 944 Lux and finished fifth overall with a second-place time of 36.30 in P3 at Shelsley.

In third place and, for much of this season until the final rounds, leading on Championship points, Wayne Eason (Boxster 2.5) celebrated his tenth class win this year with a time of 35.65. Wayne finished the season as P3 Class winner and third place overall with 163.00 points.

Five drivers entered Shelsley in Class P2 with just three hundredths of a second separating second and third place. Taking third place in 34.82 was veteran, two-time Speed Champion Geraint Evans in his tenth scoring round this season. His finish at Shelsley left him in fourth place overall in P2. 

Fractions of a second ahead in second place with 34.79 was Andy Fagan in his smartly modified Boxster S. Andy finished in third place in P2 and sixth place overall after collecting nine trophies this season.

In first place, with a 1.25 second margin over Andy’s time was 2013 Speed Champion Justin Mather (supercharged, 2.7-engined 924S). Taking his seventh class win this season with a 33.54 final run, Justin finished the season as P2 class winner and second place overall.

Class P1 also saw five drivers at Shelsley with Darren Slater (Cayman S) being remarkably consistent and creating two exact same times in the afternoon for third place. Darren’s time of 34.85 not only secured third place at Shelsley but also left him third overall in P1.

Since Anglesey, Peter Taylor (718 S) has competed in eight rounds and is always among the fastest three finishers. At Shelsley, Peter’s fastest run of 33.90 put him in second place on the day and second in P1 overall.

Fastest Porsche on the day and the Class winner at Shelsley was David Dyson (718 S) with a final, fastest run of 33.66. With an almost clean sweep this season with nine wins and one second place David can be confirmed as the P1 Class winner and 2018 Champion. With a superb ability to carry speed at any of the Championship’s venues, whether hill or circuit, David is a tough competitor to beat and a worthy winner and now takes the championship title for the second year running with a total of 163.60 points.