Follow Porsche Club Motorsport on Twitter
Club Speed


Back to top

Amazingly Close Times at Prescott

Petro-Canada Lubricants Porsche Club Speed Championship with Pirelli

Round 7 Prescott Hill Climb

Our Championship rounds at Prescott in June always feel a little more special when the weather is good and our fellow PCGB Championship, the National Hill climb, share part of the paddock space with us. Including the Porsche Club National Hill Climb drivers, there were 27 Porsches running on this prestigious 1,127-yard (1,030m) hill climb under warm, dry conditions.

The two registered drivers in Class P4 were at Prescott with Dave Chivers still gaining experience in his 2.5ltr 944 for only his second time out in this car. He finished the day in second place with 56.63. Bettering Dave’s time by 2.53 seconds was Stuart Maclean who consistently cut his times down over the day to finish with a class-winning 54.10 in his modified two-litre 924.

The four drivers in Class P3 at Goodwood were all within one-and-a-quarter seconds of each other with Martin Leach (911E) having a great final run of 50.94, almost two seconds quicker than his previous fastest run to take third place. Stephen Jory (944) also had a quick final run and finished in 50.74 for second place, just 0.31 seconds behind Wayne Eason (986 Boxster) who has had a great season so far and leads on points as we enter the second half of the season. Wayne finished with a personal best of 50.43 for the class win.

Largest class at Prescott was Class P2 with seven drivers. Just 0.51 seconds separated third and first place with second place neatly halfway between the two. Graham Rose (968-engined 924S) concisely cut his times down over the day to finish with 49.64 for third place. First and second were close throughout the day and finished with just 0.23 seconds between them. Taking second place was Andy Fagan (Boxster S) who achieved a superb 49.13 in his first run before gearbox woes affected his second run. Taking the class win with the second fastest time of the day overall was Justin Mather (2.7ltr supercharged 924S) – his winning time was 49.13.

Andrew Soper (Cayman S) made his second appearance this season in Class P1 alongside two other competitors. Andrew picked up his first trophy of the Championship with third place in 56.29. Darren Slater (Cayman S) enjoyed an excellent Prescott with a PB and second-placed finish in 50.29. Continuing his unbroken line of class wins since round three at Anglesey, David Dyson (991 Turbo S) took the class win and FTD in 48.86.