Follow Porsche Club Motorsport on Twitter
Club Speed


Back to top

Tim Barber takes 2016 Speed Title

We entered the final round at Prescott with the Championship still undecided and the final championship positions still to play for. It was an inauspicious start to the competition, however, with a mix of drizzle and heavy rain throughout the entire practice sessions as the drivers cautiously completed the first two runs on a very wet and slippery track. As with last year, it was a strong turnout of Porsches at this event with 18 drivers from the Speed Championship along with the National Hill Climb Championship taking their final runs of the season at Prescott.

In Class P4 Donald Peach (924S) steadily cut his times down over the day to finish in second place in Class P4 with a time of 64.16. This result left him in fourth place in Class P4. Taking first place in P4 was Stuart Maclean (924) with a time of 59.62. His long-term Speed Championship experience also left him in third place in Class P4 overall.

As in P4, just two drivers competed in Class P3 at Prescott with just 0.04 seconds between them at the end of play. Ross Macdonald’s (911SC/RS) fastest time was 57.08 for second place at Prescott and in P3 class position while Wayne Eason (Boxster) put in some remarkably consistent runs to finish in first with 57.04. Wayne’s consistency throughout the season left him in fourth place overall in the Championship as well as being the class champion.

Class P2, the largest class of recent years in the Championship, saw nine drivers running at Prescott. Despite a spin on his first timed run - an unusual occurrence for this experienced driver - Ian Wadsworth (911Carrera3) still put in a great final run to take third place in 54.41. His final run also secured him points for fourth place class position in P2. This season’s current champion Geraint Evans (911 3.2 Carrera) struggled with mechanical issues at the beginning of the year and only really found his pace in the later rounds. His time of 53.36 secured second place in P2 at Prescott and he finished fifth place overall in the championship. Taking first place at Prescott after utilising his impressive wet weather driving skills in the atrocious conditions was Adrian Rowlands (911SC). Adrian finished the day with a time of 52.44 and, had it not been for bad luck and missed opportunities he might have secured overall champion. Despite the win at Prescott he finished second place overall with 163.56 points – an impressive score achieved in a highly competitive class.

Five drivers competed in Class P1 with Martin Leach (964) also employing some impressive skills in the wet weather to finish in third place in 53.18. Creating a margin of just 0.42 seconds over Martin’s time, David Hilton (996 GT3RS) was characteristically quick, as he has been throughout the season, and finished in second place in 52.76. After putting in two superbly quick runs at Prescott Tim Barber (996 GT3RS) comfortably took the class win, along with the championship FTD. This final result also secured Tim the overall champion position after accumulating a point total of 163.56, just 0.32 more than Adrian Rowlands, his nearest rival.

Congratulations to Tim on a well-deserved win and thank you to all the drivers for an exciting season that went down to the wire. I hope to see you at the Motorsport Awards at Puckrup Hall Hotel on November 19 when we can celebrate a great year and congratulate the trophy winners on their achievements.